Charles Sturt University
Charles Sturt University

About Website Accessibility

DDA Educational Standards

In August 2005, the Federal Government made Disability Standards in the area of education, known as the Disability Standards on Education 2005 (the Education Standards). The Education Standards set out the rights of students with disability under the DDA in the area of education. They also set out the obligations of education providers, like schools and universities, under the DDA to assist students with disability in the area of education.

1. Web Content Accessibility Guidelines

The "Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0" are a W3C specification providing guidance on accessibility of Web sites for people with disabilities. They have been developed by the W3C's Web Accessibility Initiative.

The specification contains fourteen guidelines which are general principles of accessible design. Each guideline is associated with one or more checkpoints describing how to apply that guideline to particular features of web pages.

People with different kinds of disabilities can experience difficulty using the Web due to a combination of barriers in the information on web pages, and barriers in the "user agents" (browsers, multimedia players, or assistive technologies such as screen readers or voice recognition).

The following people can experience these difficulties:-

  • People with a visual impairment
  • People who are blind
  • People with a physical disability
  • People with hearing impairment
  • People who are colour blind
  • People with a cognitive impairment (such as dyslexia)
  • People with a different reading level

2. Priorities and Conformance levels

Each checkpoint is assigned one of three priority levels, assigned by the Working Group based on the checkpoint's impact on accessibility.

  • Priority one is for checkpoints that a developer must satisfy otherwise some groups of people will be unable to access information on a site. A web content developer must satisfy this checkpoint.
  • Priority two a developer should satisfy or else it will be very difficult to access information. A web content developer should satisfy this checkpoint.
  • Priority three a developer may satisfy otherwise, some people will find it difficult to access information. A web content developer may address this checkpoint if appropriate.

The specification defines three "conformance levels" to facilitate reference by other organizations. Conformance level "Single-A" includes priority one checkpoints; "Double-A" includes priority one and two; "Triple-A" includes priority one, two and three.

3. Quick tips (WAI Website)

Correct syntax will help eliminate a number of accessibility problems since software can process well-formed documents more easily.

See Essential Techniques