Skip to main content
Charles Sturt University
Charles Sturt University

About The School

Welcome to the School of Theology. The School has an established reputation for its emphasis on student learning, quality teaching and research. These are combined with a flexible learning environment which includes face-to-face teaching, distance education, intensives, web forums, study skills tutoring and a host of other features all designed to increase your participation in the adventure we call theology.

We have four teaching sites geared to provide a wide range of opportunities for you. You can access on campus classes in Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra and Parramatta. Online/distance education classes are available primarily through the Canberra campus of the School. In addition, there are research centres for postgraduate studies in Canberra and Parramatta.

The ethos of the School is ecumenical, with staff drawn from a variety of Christian traditions.  In particular two traditions have a degree of prominence. St Marks at Canberra, along with its affiliates St Barnabas Theological College in Adelaide and Brisbane’s St Francis College Theological College, are representative of the Anglican tradition. The United Theological College at North Parramatta is a college of the Uniting Church. All are committed to together develop and deliver a comprehensive, rigorous and vibrant theological education.

Research is highly valued in the School, which is committed to fostering a scholarly theological community that engages with contemporary society. In particular we carry this through in association with the Public and Contextual Theology Strategic Research Centre (PaCT).

You may contact us at these centres:

St Barnabas’ Theological College, Adelaide:

Phone: 08 8305 9380 Email:      

St Francis’ Theological College, Brisbane:

Phone: 07.3514.7411  Email:   

St Mark’s National Theological Centre, Canberra

Phone: 02.6272.6252  Email:     

United Theological College, Parramatta

Phone: 02.8838.8900  Email:         

St Barnabas Theological CollegeSt Francis Theological College St Mark's National Theological CentreUnited Theological College