Charles Sturt University (CSU) is calling on Year 10, 11 and 12 along with TAFE students between the ages of 16 to 21 to produce a piece of creative writing for the chance to win one of four $250 cash prizes PLUS a $100 Co-Op Book Voucher People's Choice Prize.


Write a fictional, creative and engaging story, poem or script of no more than 1,000 words exploring one or more of the following themes:

* family values
* cultural experiences
* social challenges

  1. Text entries may be submitted by email in Word format to (please ensure that your subject line states 'Creative Writing Competition 2014').
  2. All entries need to be accompanied by a cover page (Download the Cover Page Template) giving the entrant's full name, age, school and year level, as well as contact details.
  3. The entry deadline is 5pm 10 June 2014. The winners will be announced on 21 July 2014.
  4. For more information download the competition Terms and Conditions [PDF]

Thank you to all who participated in last year’s Creative Writing Competition, and our 2013 successful winners were:

Adam’s Apple Phobia
Taylah Adam (2013)
Croatia: Parallel Migrations
Ana Gracanin (2013)
Limitless Expectations
Brooke Sando (2013)
Jessica Bi (2013)


CSU's flexible Bachelor of Arts combines generalist skills and specialist vocational training in a combination chosen by the individual student. The Bachelor of Arts offers a diverse range of majors and minors to provide a good grounding for a career in many fields.

As a Bachelor of Arts graduate, you will be valued by employers for your ability to gather information, think critically, assess and interpret evidence, and communicate clearly. The course is organised on the basis of a combination of majors and minors and a number of electives, giving you the opportunity to study subjects you are passionate about across a range of disciplines.


Contact us

For more information about the Creative Writing Competition, or about studying at Charles Sturt University, please contact us

Phone: 1800 334 733 (free call within Australia)