Charles Sturt University RADIATION SAFETY COMMITTEE

Charles Sturt University is committed to providing a safe and healthy working environment for its employees, and to ensuring that students and visitors to the University premises are safe from risk resulting from exposure to radiation used in either teaching or research.

The Committee is responsible for:

- →Ensuring appropriate Licences are held by Users of Radioactive Substances and Irradiating Apparatus;
- → Maintaining Records relating to Radioactive Substances and Irradiating Apparatus;
- →Providing Approval to Acquire or Purchase Radioactive Substances;
- →Dosimetry Reports;

- →Approval of Research which involves the use of Ionising Radiation;
- →Radiation Training;
- →Conducting Audits on the University's Facilities;
- →Investigation of Accidents and Incidents involving radiation;
- →Developing and disseminating a Radiation Safety Manual; and
- →Promoting radiation safety and awareness.

Recently, the Radiation Safety Committee developed and implemented the following policies:

- →Laser Safety Policy which includes offering staff and students the opportunity to have any Laser Pointers tested to ensure they comply
- with the Australian Standard; and

 →Solar Ultraviolet Radiation Policy for the protection of staff and students who may be occupationally exposed to solar ultraviolet radiation. Training and Risk Assessment resources can be obtained from the Executive Officer of the Committee.

 Information concerning these topics and more can be located on our newly updated website:

 http://www.csu.edu.au/acad_sec/committees/radiation/index.html