Policy Development Resources

Charles Sturt University has a standard policy format which must be used for the publication of all policies, procedures and guidelines.  The use of a standard and predictable format assists staff and others to access information reliably, helps decision-making and problem-solving, ensures more accurate electronic indexing and searching, and removes unnecessary costs arising from multiple and inconsistent document formats. Documents that are not consistent with the standard policy format will not be loaded into the policy system.  The University applies this structure within a pre-defined MS Word template and the authors of these documents should contact policy@csu.edu.au for a copy of the template and to organise training in its use.

The following resources are available to assist policy authors with the development of Charles Sturt University policies, procedures and guidelines which are all published in the CSU Policy Library.


Workflow Diagrams

CSU Policy Templates

Please contact policy@csu.edu.au for a policy administrator user guide.

Training for System Authors, Endorsers and Approvers

Training sessions will be conducted with staff involved in drafting, developing, endorsing, approving and managing policy.

These sessions can be organised by the Office of Governance and Corporate Affairs, Governance Services team by emailing policy@csu.edu.au or contacting your relevant system administrator, as below:

Office of the Vice-Chancellor

  • Office of the Vice-Chancellor - Catherine Gordon
  • Office of Governance and Corporate Affairs
    • University Council - Natalie Nixon
    • Academic Senate - Ingrid Pulley
  • Office of Government and Community Relations - Catherine Gordon
  • Office of Strategic Planning and Information - Catherine Gordon

Office of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) - Clare Jonker

  • Faculty of Arts and Education (including Schools, ACC&C and Centre for Islamic Studies)
  • Faculty of Business, Justice and Behavioural Sciences (including Schools and Centre for Customs and Excise Studies)
  • Faculty of Science (including Schools and Dental, Veterinary and Allied Health Clinics)
  • Division of Student Learning (including Education for Practice Institute) 
  • Division of Library Services 
  • Office for Students

Office of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Students) - Raegan Petzel

  • Division of Student Administration 
  • Division of Marketing and Communication 
  • Residence Life

Office of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research, Development & Industry) - Rosemary Adams

  • Research Office 
  • All Research Centres
  • Division of International Education and Partnerships
  • Office of Indigenous Education 
  • Regional Archives and University Art Collection Unit
  • Spacial Analysis Unit 

Office of the Chief Financial Officer - Susan Ryan

  • Division of Finance 
  • Division of Facilities Management 
  • Division of Information Technology
  • Web Strategy Office

Division of Human Resources - Raegan Petzel