Staff engagement - What You Can Do

Action plan

This action plan has been paired with the Human Capital Framework

Initiatives

You can get involved in lots of initiatives to make a positive contribution to sustainability at CSU

  • tree planting day
  • ride or walk to work
  • sustainability grants
  • LiFE workshops
  • watch a sustainability film [doc 17kb]
  • take a look at national and campus sustainability initiatives in our events calendar

Sustainability in the workplace

  • office recycling
  • CSU Organics
  • active transport
  • sustainability in the curriculum
  • LiFE
  • ecoPortal

Sustainable super options with UniSuper

For some of us, one of the biggest contributors to our carbon footprint comes from the way financial institutions like our super funds and the banks we choose to deal with use our savings to fund the expansion of the fossil fuel industry.

If reducing your carbon footprint is an important consideration for you, then you may be interested to know that our exclusive super provider, UniSuper, have introduced investment products that are actively managed to minimise support or expansion of the fossil fuel sector. You can read more about these products via the followings summaries available on the UniSuper website.

Australian Campuses Towards Sustainability (ACTS)

CSU are proud members of Australasian Campuses Towards Sustainability (ACTS), a leading inter-institutional body advocating for best practice sustainability within the operations, curriculum and research of the tertiary education sector.  Our membership also provides staff and students access to range of member only sustainability resources.

Campus Environment Committee (CEC)

You can get involved in sustainability on campus by becoming a member of your Campus Environment Committee. No matter which faculty or division you work within, if you have an interest in sustainability and would like to offer your on-ground knowledge, expertise and passion for sustainability to help us develop initiatives, reach sustainability targets and environmental goals on campus, get involved with your nearest CEC.

Albury-Wodonga AWCEC

You can contact the AWCEC with ideas, suggestions, comments or other contributions by emailing the Community Relations Officer hocalburywodonga@csu.edu.au.

Bathurst BCEC

You can contact the BCEC with ideas, suggestions, comments or other contributions by emailing the Community Relations Officer hocbathurst@csu.edu.au.

Dubbo DCEC

You can contact the DCEC with ideas, suggestions, comments or other contributions by emailing the Community Relations Officer hocdubbo@csu.edu.au.

Orange OCEC

You can contact the OCEC with ideas, suggestions, comments or other contributions by emailing the Community Relations Officer hocorange@csu.edu.au.

Port Macquarie PMCEC

You can contact the PMCEC with ideas, suggestions, comments or other contributions by emailing the Community Relations Officer hocportmacquarie@csu.edu.au.

Wagga Wagga WWCEC

You can contact the WWCEC with ideas, suggestions, comments or other contributions by emailing the Community Relations Officer hocwaggawagga@csu.edu.au.

CEC terms of reference [pdf 24kb]

CEC poster [pdf 1.1mb]

Staff Sustainability Network (SSN)

Are you passionate about sustainability? Are you keen to drive initiatives and share information in your CSU workplace? Are you interested in networking across disciplines? Then we would love to hear from you!

Contact us at csugreen@csu.edu.au to find out more or join up to the Staff Sustainability Network. You can find a sustainability champion within your School/Division on your campus by checking the table below. If one already exists, please contact them to discuss your ideas and interest.

Staff Member School/Division Building Campus Email
Dan Murphy Accounting & Finance 764 AW damurphy@csu.edu.au
Ben Wilson Environmental Science 760 AW bwilson@csu.edu.au
Grace Lowden Student Service Centre 753 AW glowden@csu.edu.au
Toby Mobbs Library Services Library (753) AW tmobbs@csu.edu.au
Sandra Martin Student Administration 1410 BA smartin@csu.edu.au
Deb Bardon Human Resources 1410 BA dbardon@csu.edu.au
Sharon Sandry Office of Vice Chancellor 1205 BA ssandry@csu.edu.au
Nicola Hope Campus Services 1454 BA nhope@csu.edu.au
Janine Friedrich Library Services Library (1412) BA jfriedrich@csu.edu.au
David Hughes Library Services Library (1412) BA dahughes@csu.edu.au
Simon Wright Management & Marketing 1411 BA siwright@csu.edu.au
Alistair Robinson Facilities Management 3016 BA arobinson@csu.edu.au
Damien Blattman Campus Services 1454 BA dblattman@csu.edu.au
Rachel Cavallaro Management & Marketing 1411 BA rcavallaro@csu.edu.au
Michelle Ryan-Gales Policing Studies D Go mryan-gales@csu.edu.au
Chris Faucett Campus Services 1054 OR cfaucett@csu.edu.au
Therese King Facilities Management 1001 OR tking@csu.edu.au
Betty-Ann Nannes Facilities Management 1130 OR bnannes@csu.edu.au
Donald Hanney Campus Services 1054 OR dhanney@csu.edu.au
Deanne Tilden Student Services   PMQ dtilden@csu.edu.au
Raegan Petzel DVC Admin 476 WW rpetzel@csu.edu.au
Kieran Fromholtz Information Technology 15 WW kfromholtz@csu.edu.au
Renee Corlett Finance 3 WW rcorlett@csu.edu.au
Nicola Smith Facilities Management 440 WW nismith@csu.edu.au
Ed Maher Facilities Management 440 WW emaher@csu.edu.au
Rachel Crease Learning & Teaching Services 005 WW rcrease@csu.edu.au
Caroline Love Agriculture & Wine Sciences 286 WW clove@csu.edu.au
Dan Given Student Learning 029 WW dagiven@csu.edu.au
Rev Jenny Willsher St Martin's College 382 WW jwillsher@csu.edu.au
Chris Orchard Communication & Creative Industries 021 WW corchard@csu.edu.au
Michelle Burton Student Services Centre 013 WW miburton@csu.edu.au
Amanda Causer Dentistry & Health Sciences 030 WW acauser@csu.edu.au
Joanne Skidmore Student Administration 013 WW jskidmore@csu.edu.au

Sustainability Advisory Group (SAG)

The purpose of the University's Sustainability Advisory Group (SAG) is to provide direction and oversight to the implementation of the University's Strategic Objectives relating to Sustainability.

The SAG is committed to:

  • the University becoming a sector leader in sustainability practices
  • facilitating the creation of a culture of students and staff who are committed to achieving CSU's sustainability goals.

The Groups' scope will include:

  • Leadership and governance
  • Partnership and engagement
  • Learning, teaching and research
  • Facilities and operations

The SAG provides advice to the University Senior Executive Committee via the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Administration).

SAG membership and terms of reference [pdf 30kb]