Charles Sturt University
Charles Sturt University

Emergency Planning Committee (EPC)

The Emergency Planning Committee was established in 1997 in accordance with the then Australian Standard AS3745 "Emergency control organization and procedures for buildings, structures and workplaces".  The EPC reports through the University's Safety and Health Management Committee (USHMC) to the Vice Chancellor.

Our Role

The Emergency Planning Committee has the role of strategic planning and policy formulation for emergency and critical incident management activities relating to staff, students, visitors and properties under the control of Charles Sturt University

Terms of Reference 

  • Set the standards in emergency and critical incident management through policy, guidelines and template plans.
  • Determine performance indicators and measure outcomes against these indicators.
  • Provide an annual report on all aspects of emergency and critical incident management within the university.
  • Ensure a consistent approach to emergency and critical incident management across the University.
  • Receive and act upon issues that cannot be resolved at campus level.
  • Ensure that adequate resources are available to maintain the campus ECOs and CIRGs to enable them to perform their roles.
  • Coordinate the promotion of emergency and critical incident management functions across the University

Emergency Management Policy

Emergency Planning Committee Membership
Director DFM Operations & Maintenance (Presiding Officer)Mr Wayne Millar02 693 34220
Albury-Wodonga Chief WardenMr Mark Evans02 605 19616
Bathurst Chief WardenMr Peter Scott02 633 84191
Dubbo & Orange Chief WardenMr Mark Chapman02 636 57672
Wagga Wagga Chief WardenMr Terry O'Meara02 693 32925
Manager, Operations & Maintenance - Facilities ManagementMr Barry Turner02 693 34327
Manager, WHS (Facilities) - Division of Facilities ManagementMr Ken Simpson02 693 34321
Director, Infrastructure & Client Services - Division of Information TechnologyMr Brian Roberson02 633 84777
Manager, HR Service Centre - Division of Human ResourcesMs Deb Bardon02 633 86564
Manager, Work, Health & Safety - Division of Human ResourcesMs Melissa Lombe02 633 84029
Manager, Student Central - Division of Student AdministrationMs Katrina Allitt02 605 19171
Executive Director - Division of Marketing and CommunicationMs Sarah Ansell 02 693 32226
Manager, Inclusion & Counseling - Office of StudentsMr Jonathon Wilby03 636 57589
Representative, Heads of SchoolVacant 
SecretaryMs Katie White02 693 32286