Charles Sturt University
Charles Sturt University

How the Learning Academy can support you

How can the Learning Academy support you? Who do you contact?

The Learning Academy provides support, development and resources to support all CSU educators to enhance learning and teaching experiences of both staff and students working with individuals, small groups and self-help online resources.

Activity Area

Support with…

Who to contact?

Induction and New to Teaching@CSU

Introduction to CSU systems, policies and processes (ELMO)

Contemporary Approaches to Teaching (MOOC)

Kellie Smyth

ksmyth@csu.edu.au

02 6272 6270

Sheeja Samuel

ssamuel@csu.edu.au

02 60519742

Probation for teaching academics

GCLTHE subject: EEL 516

Pam Roberts

paroberts@csu.edu.au

02 6272 6221

Kellie Smyth

ksmyth@csu.ed.au

02 6272 6270

GCLTHE

Course, Pathways, Exemption

Pam Roberts

paroberts@csu.edu.au

02 6272 6221

Teaching support including Professional Learning support

One-on-one consultations

Workshops, Seminars, L&T resources for all CSU teaching staff

Kellie Smyth

ksmyth@csu.edu.au

02 6272 6270

All Learning Academy staff

Assessment, Moderation & Benchmarking

One-on-one consultations

Workshops, Seminars, L&T resources for all CSU teaching staff

Deb Murdoch

dmurdoch@csu.edu.au

02 6933 4192

Sheeja Samuel

ssamuel@csu.edu.au

02 6051 9742

Indigenous Cultural Competency Program

ICCP,

Imbedding GLOs in subjects and courses

Barb Hill

bahill@csu.edu.au

02 6338 4873

Melinda Lewis

melewis@csu.edu.au

02 6338 6398

Workplace Learning

One-on-one consultations

Workshops, Seminars, PD resources

Deb Clarke

dclarke@csu.edu.au

02 6338 4475

Peer Review of Educational Practice

One-on-one consultations

Workshops, Seminars, PD resources

Kogi Naidoo

knaidoo@csu.edu.au

02 6933 4804

Applying for Promotion

Peer review evidence

Using the CSU Academic evidence framework

Kogi Naidoo

knaidoo@csu.edu.au

02 6933 4804

Teaching Awards, Grants and Fellowships

CSU Teaching Awards and Grants

External awards

Higher Education Academy (HEA)

HERDSA Fellowships

Kogi Naidoo

knaidoo@csu.edu.au

02 6933 4804

Matthew Lanarch

mlarnach@csu.edu.au

02 6338 4804

Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SOTL)

Researching your teaching practice: Action research projects

Publishing your research

Self-paced SOTL modules

Kogi Naidoo

knaidoo@csu.edu.au

02 6933 4804

Deb Clarke

dclarke@csu.edu.au

02 6338 4475

GLOs Support

Embedding GLOs in subjects and courses

Change maker GLOs: Sustainability

Global Citizenship

Indigenous Cultural Competency GLO

Bruce Stenlake

bstenlake@csu.edu.au

02 6933 2969

Jonathon Howard

jhoward@csu.edu.au

02 6051 9350

Sheeja Samuel

ssamuel@csu.edu.au

02 6051 9742

Barb Hill

bahill@csu.edu.au

02 6338 4873

Melinda Lewis

melewis@csu.edu.au

02 6338 6398

Vice-Chancellor’s Yindyamarra Award

(Currently in the planning stages)

Award information

GLO Badges

In class: Supporting your students

Jonathon Howard

jhoward@csu.edu.au

02 6051 9350

Our ways of working:

Here are ways in which we can work with you:

  • One-on-one consultations, Workshops, seminars (CSU-wide, campus, faculty, school, course teams, interest groups- offered f2f or online)
  • Online learning and teaching resources (website, PD Search, Faculty wikis, etc.)
  • Induction and Probation support
  • GCLTHE: Post-graduate teaching qualification
  • Peer review of your educational practice
  • SOTL Support including support with getting published
  • Mentoring support relating to career progression

DLT: https://www.csu.edu.au/division/learning-and-teaching/home

Learning Academy:  https://www.csu.edu.au/division/learning-and-teaching/about-us/learning-academy