Charles Sturt University
Charles Sturt University

University Profile

Charles Sturt University (CSU) was established in 1989 as a multi-campus institution and, over the past 25 years, has grown into a dynamic and progressive university well-known for its innovative approach to education and applied research.

Our Australian campuses at Albury-WodongaBathurst, CanberraDubboOrange, Port Macquarie and Wagga Wagga, as well as study locations at Parramatta, Goulburn and Wangaratta, provide local access to higher education across New South Wales, the Australian Capital Territory and Victoria.

Our capacity for flexible delivery and international reputation for online learning provide access to educational opportunity throughout Australia and the world. As a national University, Charles Sturt enrols nearly 43,000 students from across Australia and in more than 120 countries around the world.

To address our commitment to making a positive contribution to the wider Australian community and to participating in the internationalisation of higher education, Charles Sturt University delivers educational opportunities for students to study around the globe, while attracting more than 6,700 students at CSU Study Centres in Sydney, Brisbane and Melbourne.

Through our network of campuses, and in close association with industry, professions and government, we are committed to maintaining a course and research profile to meet the needs and supports the aspirations of our communities, and contribute to the enrichment of inland Australia.

We consider our regional, national and international roles to be integrally linked and mutually reinforcing. We believe that the University's success in attracting national and international students strengthens the programs it is able to offer its inland communities. The University's regional locations enable it to make a distinctive national and international contribution in such fields as health sciences, food and water security, environmental sustainability and economic prosperity.

The University's three faculties (Arts and EducationBusiness, Justice and Behavioural Sciences, and Science and Health) comprise a number of schools and centres. Faculties operate across campuses and are responsible for developing and delivering courses, while schools are generally based on a single campus and carry responsibility for teaching subjects. Administrative and academic support services are provided by the divisions, centres and offices, which operate across the University's campuses.

Research is conducted through institutes and centres located across the University's campuses.

The University has four University Research Centres: the Graham Centre for Agricultural Innovation, the Institute for Land, Water and Society (ILWS), the National Wine and Grape Industry Centre (NWGIC) and the Centre for Public and Contextual Theology (PACT). The University also hosts the Functional Grains Centre which is an Australian Research Council Industrial Transformation Training Centre.