Charles Sturt University
Graham Centre for Agricultural Innovation

Australian Government Research Training Program Scholarship – Graham Centre

The  Australian Government Research Training Program Scholarships (AGRTP) – Graham Centre form part of Charles Sturt University's (CSU) scholarships available each year.

The information below pertains specifically to the Graham Centre AGRTP Scholarships, however applicants should also refer to for more information about Higher Degree by Research (HDR) scholarships at Charles Sturt.


  • Two Graham Centre AGRTP Scholarships are available each year.


  • Each scholarship is valued at $33,092 per annum (2020 rate) payable in fortnightly payments for three years, subject to satisfactory progress.
    N.B.: This includes a supplementary top-up amount of $5,000 per annum, which is awarded to each successful applicant at the discretion of the Centre Director.
  • Tuition Fees are exempted for a period equivalent to four years (eight sessions) for PhD/Research Doctorate (full-time study).
  • Scholarship recipients are allocated an allowance (Operating Funds) each session of enrolment to assist with the reimbursement of costs associated with the candidate's research.
  • Scholarship recipients may be eligible to receive a relocation allowance for the cost of relocating themselves, their spouse, and dependants to a CSU campus, to a maximum of AUD $5,000


Graham Centre AGRTP Scholarships provide financial support for students who meet the following criteria:

  • Currently enrolled OR enrolling on a full-time basis as a Higher Degree Research candidate at Charles Sturt University.
  • Undertaking research that is closely linked to the Centre's Research Pathways.
  • Will be supervised by at least one Graham Centre Member throughout their candidature.
  • Are Australian or New Zealand citizens OR have Australian permanent resident status.

How to apply

Find out more information apply here.

NOTE: Candidates currently enrolled in a Charles Sturt University HDR course must complete a separate scholarship application.

Closing date

Applications for these scholarships are open with applications for study all year. The main round opens July and closes at the end of October.


T: 02 6933 4400   E:

Research Pathway Leaders

Plant Systems – Prof Jim Pratley T: (02) 6933 2862 E:
Livestock Systems – Assoc Prof Marta Hernandez-Jover T: (02) 6933 2086 E:
Grain and Meat Quality – Prof Chris Blanchard T: (02) 6933 2364