Charles Sturt University
Graham Centre for Agricultural Innovation

Research pays off for Graham Centre graduates

Congratulations to PhD, Masters and Honours students from the Graham Centre for Agricultural Innovation who graduated from CSU on Tuesday 12 December.

Centre Director Professor Michael Friend said, “Graduation is a time to celebrate the achievements of our students, their hard work and dedication over many years and the contributions their research has made to improving the profitability and sustainabuility of our primary industries.

“We saw the graduation of 11 PhD students, a Master of Philosophy student, and 11 Honours students whose research has been supported by Graham Centre scholarships.”

Graham Centre PhD graduates

  • Dr Muhammad Kamran ’s PhD research has identified the best conditions for harvesting and processing Australian olive leaves to maximise the yield of beneficial chemical compounds called biophenols.Read more here.
  • Dr Kyle Reynolds was awarded his PhD for  research investigating if genetic engineering can be used to develop a more sustainable source of vegetable oil production. Read more here.
  • Dr Jessica Rose was awarded her PhD for research which increases our understanding of the brain control of reproduction in merino rams. Read more here.
  • Dr Dominik Skoneczny’s PhD compared Paterson’s curse plants collected from Australia, Portugal and Spain to examine the genetics, ecology and chemistry of the plant in various locations. He was awarded the Higher Degree by Research  University Medal. Read more here.
  • Dr Jesmin Aktar’s PhD showed perennial wheat can survive for three years, regrow and produce grain and forage, showing its potential as an option for mixed farmers. Read more here.
  • Dr Kylie Crampton was awarded her PhD for research examining root-lesion nematodes, a costly pest for the grain industry. Read more here.
  • Dr Clare Flakelar’s PhD research has examined the bioactive compounds in canola oil and the impact of agronomic practices, processing and storage. Read more here.
  • Dr Marefa Jahan’s PhD focused on sialic acids, a type of sugar molecule in milk and its impact on pig production and human health. Read more here.
  • Dr William Kerua was awarded his PhD for research to recognise farmers’ perspectives in research, development and extension in Cocoa production.Read more here.
  • Dr Susan Orgill was awarded her PhD for research demonstrating that the ability of soil to sequester Carbon is driven by regional climate and soil properties more than farming practice.Read more here.
  • Dr Aaron Preston’s PhD research is set to help grain growers control annual ryegrass, with a faster testing method for herbicide resistance. Read more here.

Master of Philosophy

  • Mr Cassius Coombs was awarded a Master of Philosophy for research examining the impact of chilled and frozen storage on meat.

Honours research

  • Graham Centre Honours scholarships support the research of CSU undergraduate students, and this year 11 scholarship recipients graduated. Ms Emma Lynch, Mr Thomas Keogh, Ms Veronika Vicic, Ms Rebecca Barnewall, Ms Jennifer Connor, Ms Marnie Hodge, Ms Annabel Stoddart, Ms Grace Whiteley and Mr Mark Harrison were awarded Bachelor of Animal Science (Honours). Mr Tabin Brooks was awarded his Bachelor of Science (Honours) and Mr Alistair Dart was awarded a Bachelor of Agricultural Science (Honours)


Full Newsletter

Direct article link