Charles Sturt University
Graham Centre for Agricultural Innovation


Meat researcher’s star on the rise

Dr Ben HolmanNSW Department of Primary industries research scientist Dr Benjamin Holman has been recognised in the field of food texture research for his work in meat science.

The Journal of Texture studies has named Dr Holman as a rising star in texture research, one of seven young researchers honoured world-wide. Read the full article.

Dr Holman’s research has provided valuable insight into the impact of processing, production and storage on meat quality traits.

Important findings from his research include confirmation that the bolar blade of dark cutting beef does not share the undesirable dark, firm and dry texture characteristics of the striploin and topside—and could therefore regain its value to mitigate waste.

Dr Holman’s research has also examined the impact of frozen storage temperatures on lamb and beef tenderness and the comparison of several pasture species on lamb meat nutritional value.

Graham Centre member recognised with prestigious CM Donald Medal

Dr John AngusThe Agronomy Society of Australia has awarded the prestigious CM Donald Medal to Dr John Angus in recognition of a distinguished career spanning nearly 50 years.

Dr Angus retired as a Chief Research Scientist from CSIRO in 2010 after working in the Plant Industry and Land Use Divisions from 1973 and is now farming in Stockinbingal.

He continues to work as a researcher with colleagues at CSIRO, as an adjunct professor at Charles Sturt University, and the Graham Centre for Agricultural Innovation.

Read more about the award on our website.

Eureka! Graham Centre member part of prize winning STEM program

Dr Paul Prenzler and the NISEP team during science weekGraham Centre members Dr Paul Prenzler and PhD student Collette Geier are part of nationally recognised program to support Indigenous secondary students to deliver science workshops and activities.

The National Indigenous Science Education Program (NISEP) has been awarded the 2019 Australian Museum Eureka Prize for STEM inclusion.

NIESP is a partnership between Charles Sturt University, Macquarie University, high schools and community groups that aims to engage Indigenous students in science, developing their leadership skills and building aspiration towards education.

Dr Prenzler is pictured with students at the recent NISEP Community Science Day at Tolland held as part of National Science Week in Wagga.

Read more on Charles Sturt University News

Charles Sturt University Excellence Award

Dr Abishek Santhakumar and Professor  John GermovDr Abishek Santhakumar from the Functional Grains Centre has been recognised with a Charles Sturt University Excellence Award for his work to understand the beneficial health properties of food.

Dr Santhakumar, pictured at the award presentation with Charles Sturt Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) Professor John Germov,  uses rigorous scientific approaches to demonstrate positive human health impacts and provide insights into the physiological mechanisms of these impacts.

Graham Centre students in the 3MT

James Lee, Md Shafaet Hossen and Michelle WilliamsPhD research takes years of dedication with countless hours in the laboratory, out in the field or poring over data, but three minutes was all the time on the clock for Graham Centre students to explain their research.

Michelle Williams, James Lee and Md. Shafaet Hossen (pictured) took part in the final of the Charles Sturt University (Charles Sturt) Three Minute Thesis (3MT) competition in June. Read more about their presentations.

They missed out on the prizes but did a great job presenting their research - congratulations to the winner Blake Collins.


Full Newsletter

Direct article link