ILWS - Charles Sturt University
ILWS - Charles Sturt University

ILWS Scholarships

Applying for ILWS HDR Scholarships

ILWS Higher Degree Research (HDR) Scholarships for 2021 intake.

Applications for 2021 scholarships now open. 

Closing date is 5pm (AEDST) Friday October 30, 2020.

The AGRTP – ILWS scholarships provide an opportunity for successful applicants to work with leading ILWS researchers on research topics that contribute directly to ILWS research. These prestigious scholarships recognise excellence with stipend top-ups of $6,000 per annum. The total scholarship stipend is valued at $34,092 per annum (2020 rate).

Australian or New Zealand citizens or Australian permanent resident are encouraged to apply for AGRTP-ILWS scholarships, which are awarded to postgraduate researchers with exceptional promise whose research area is relevant to the key research objectives of ILWS.

ILWS research is undertaken within four thematic (not mutually exclusive) areas:

Biodiversity Conservation

Research is undertaken by the Institute's terrestrial and aquatic ecologists, working on one or more aspects of biodiversity conservation including landscape ecology, environmental history, vegetation and wildlife ecology, restoration ecology, plant-animal interactions, ecosystem services and native fish conservation. Potential topics include:

Designing artificial hollows for threatened species in New South Wales. Contact A/Professor Dale Nimmo dnimmo@csu.edu.au

Of mistletoe and microclimate: does canopy complexity buffer climatic extremes? Contact Professor David Watson dwatson@csu.edu.au

Grassland plant responses to the re-introduction of cultural burns. Contact Dr Jodi Price joprice@csu.edu.au

Group dynamics of feral horses in the high country: environmental impacts and management priorities. Contact Dr Maggie Watson mawatson@csu.edu.au

Captive breeding of threatened native fish species.  Contact Professor Lee Baumgartner lbaumgartner@csu.edu.au

Environmental Water

This theme is the platform for the Institute's two major environmental water monitoring programs in the Edward-Wakool and the Murrumbidgee river systems. It is also home for the Institute-based Fish Ecology Collaborative Research Unit and fish ecology and irrigation technology projects. Potential topics include:

Ecology and conservation of floodplain reptile communities in the Murrumbidgee catchment of New South Wales. Contact Dr Damian Michael dmichael@csu.edu.au

Vegetation responses to surface and groundwater fluxes in intermittent wetland environments (using remote sensing). Contact A/Professor Andrew Hall ahall@csu.edu.au

Rural and Regional Communities

A wide range of research projects are conducted, where the main focus is enhancing the well-being and livelihoods of rural and regional communities. Many projects include a strong social science component. Potential topics include:

Examining community perceptions, attitudes and experiences of police during critical incidents & natural disasters. Contact A/Professor Philip Birch pbirch@csu.edu.au

A place-based approach to regional energy transitions from a complex systems or landscape perspective. Contact Dr Simon Wright siwright@csu.edu.au

Sustainable Development (International)

Cross-cutting the three other themes, sustainable development research projects are being undertaken in countries such as Laos, Bhutan, Pakistan and Timor Leste. Potential topics includes:

Interrogating the interconnections of human-wildlife conflict and rural development. Contact Dr Jen Bond jebond@csu.edu.au

Prospective candidates

Prospective Higher Degree by Research candidates can apply for an AGRTP IWLS Scholarship when completing their Charles Sturt course admission application.

Apply now

Need more information?  Review the University’s guide to getting started with a research degree.

insert div