ILWS - Charles Sturt University
ILWS - Charles Sturt University

ILWS Scholarships

Applying for ILWS HDR Scholarships

ILWS Higher Degree Research (HDR) Scholarships for 2022 intake.

Applications process now open. 

Closing date is 5pm (AEDST) Friday October 22, 2021.

The AGRTP – ILWS scholarships provide an opportunity for successful applicants to work with leading ILWS researchers on research topics that contribute directly to ILWS research. These prestigious scholarships recognise excellence with stipend top-ups of $6,000 per annum. The total scholarship stipend is valued at $34,597 per annum (2021 rate).

Australian or New Zealand citizens or Australian permanent residents are encouraged to apply for AGRTP-ILWS scholarships which are awarded to postgraduate researchers with exceptional promise whose research area is relevant to the research objectives of ILWS.

ILWS research is undertaken within four thematic (not mutually exclusive) areas:

Biodiversity Conservation

Research is undertaken by the Institute's terrestrial and aquatic ecologists, working on one or more aspects of biodiversity conservation including landscape ecology, environmental history, vegetation and wildlife ecology, restoration ecology, plant-animal interactions, ecosystem services and native fish conservation. Applicants are encouraged to discuss their own project ideas with ILWS researchers. Example potential topics include:

  • Can Australian birds detect the odours of native and introduced mammalian predators? Contact Associate Professor Melanie Massaro mmassaro@csu.edu.au
  • Development of drone and Lidar technology to survey roadside vegetation. Contact Associate Professor Peter Spooner pspooner@csu.edu.au
  • The behaviour response of animals to fire cues. Contact Associate Professor  Dale Nimmo dnimmo@csu.edu.au
  • Dynamics of mistletoes and cherry ballart in woodlands affected by fire and land management on the inland slopes of the Great Divide, and their implications for bird populations. Contact Professor Dave Watson dwatson@csu.edu.au
  • Tasmanian parrot flat fly populations—following in the footsteps of Maa. Contact Associate Professor Andrew Peters apeters@csu.edu.au
  • Alpine crayfish conservation—population structure after bushfire and the need for translocation. Contact Dr Maggie Watson mawatson@csu.edu.au
  • Developing a captive breeding program for a threatened fish species. Contact Professor Lee Baumgartner lbaumgartner@csu.edu.au

Environmental Water

This theme is the platform for the Institute's two major water monitoring, evaluation and research programs in the Edward/Kolety-Wakool and the Murrumbidgee river systems. It is also home for the Institute-based Fish Ecology Collaborative Research Unit and fish ecology and irrigation technology projects. Applicants are encouraged to discuss their own project ideas with ILWS researchers. Example potential topics include:

  • Vegetation responses to surface and groundwater fluxes in intermittent wetland environments (using remote sensing). Contact Associate Professor Andrew Hall ahall@csu.edu.au
  • Ecological roles of freshwater mussels in temperate floodplain-rivers. Contact Dr Nicole McCasker on nmccasker@csu.edu.au,  Associate Professor Paul Humphries phumphries@csu.edu.au
  • Effects of an ectosymbiont on yabby hosts. Contact Dr Katie Doyle kadoyle@csu.edu.au

Rural and Regional Communities

A wide range of research projects are conducted where the main focus is enhancing the well-being and livelihoods of rural and regional communities. Many projects include a strong social science component. Applicants are encouraged to discuss their own project ideas with ILWS researchers. Example potential topics include:

  • Workplace belonging, positive employment relationships and individual wellbeing, leading to the promotion of healthy regions and their communities.  Contact: Professor Branka Krivokapic-Skoko bkrivokapic@csu.edu.au

Sustainable Development (International)

Cross-cutting the three other themes, sustainable development research projects are being undertaken in countries such as Laos, Bhutan, Pakistan and Timor Leste. Applicants are encouraged to discuss their own project ideas with ILWS researchers. Example potential topics include:

Prospective candidates

Prospective Higher Degree Research candidates can apply for an AGRTP IWLS Scholarship when completing their Charles Sturt course admission application.

Apply now

Need more information?  Review the University’s guide to getting started with a research degree.

August 5, 2021

insert div