ILWS - Charles Sturt University
ILWS - Charles Sturt University

Advisory board

At the inception of the Institute in 2005, an Advisory Board was appointed.  The role of the Board was to provide strategic advice to the ILWS Director and Management Team including identifying emerging research opportunities and potential research partnerships and by linking science with policy.

Since that time the Advisory Board has reflected the diversity of research disciplines in ILWS and represented many of our key stakeholders. Each Board member was a leader in his or her field and had a strong commitment to supporting ILWS develop as an internationally recognised provider of transdisciplinary biophysical, social and economic research.

Since 2016 Institute has been supported by an Internal Management Advisory Team whose members are researchers representing our four research themes.

Members of the Advisory Boards

Members 2013-2015

Chair of the Board

Professor John WilliamsProfessor John Williams
ILWS Adjunct Professor; director John Williams Scientific Services Ltd. (former Commissioner, NSW Natural resources Commission)

John's life work has been in the study of hydrology and the use of water in the landscape and farming, including land salinity. He is a member of the Wentworth group of Concerned Scientists which is creating a rational debate on Australia's water resources. He was Chief of the Division of Land and Water, CSIRO when he retired in 2004 having served earlier at the CSIRO laboratories at Townsville in Queensland where, among other things, he studied the Great Artesian Basin and the transport of water from the Great Dividing Range into the outback of Queensland and New South Wales. He has also served as Chief Scientist and Chair of the New South Wales Department of Natural Resources' Science and Information Board; and was a Commissioner with the NSW Natural Resources Commission.


Dr David Godden, Dr David Godden
UNE Business School, University of New England

David is an Adjunct Research Professor in the University of New England's Business School. Until his retirement in mid-2011, he was Manager of the Economics Services Section, NSW Office of Environment and Heritage in the Department of Premier and Cabinet. He managed the Department's economic evaluation of environmental protection and on- and off-park conservation, and economic evaluation of intra- and inter-agency policy development. From 1990-2002, he was a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Agricultural Economics at the University of Sydney, and previously was a Senior Research Scientist (in agricultural economics) with the NSW agriculture department.

Lorne ButtDr Lorne Butt, Hons) (UTS), MBA (Charles Sturt), PhD, Macquarie Uni (MGSM) AIMM, MAICD
Ecological Sustainability Coordinator, TAFE NSW Western Institute

Lorne is a Director, and Company Secretary, of the Institute for Sustainable Leadership Ltd. She completed her Doctor of Philosophy in Management at Macquarie University's Graduate School of Management (MGSM), and her research examined the key factors impacting upon sustainability programs in universities in the Sydney basin and regions. Lorne holds a Bachelor of Science in Environmental Biology and Bachelor of Science (Honours) in Biological and Biomedical Sciences from the University of Technology, Sydney, specialising in urban landscape ecology. She has worked in the public, private and higher education sectors for over 12 years across the areas of corporate governance, strategic planning, project management, quality management and audit, risk management, sustainability, international education, and occupational health and safety.

Mr Paul Ryan,
Natural Resource Management Advisor, from Interface NRM Peter Ryan NRM Advisor

Paul is the principal of Interface NRM, an environmental consultancy that specialises in resilience thinking, strategic planning, adaptive governance and management. For the past five years Paul has been working with federal, state, regional agencies and local communities to incorporate resilience concepts into natural resource management and planning.  An ecologist by training, Paul has previously worked with CSIRO and the Resilience Alliance, coordinating ecological and multi-disciplinary research. Prior to this he worked on-ground for state agencies and the Goulburn Broken Catchment Authority in Victoria where he was involved in the development and implementation of regional catchment strategies, programs and incentive schemes.

Ms Barbara HullMs Barbara Hull,
Former Chief Executive Officer, Regional Development Australia-Murray

As Chief Executive Officer of Regional Development Australia Murray, Barbara was actively focused on strategic planning, project delivery, community engagement and economic development initiatives. She has extensive operational experience demonstrated by virtue of the range of agribusiness, environmental and infrastructure projects successfully delivered throughout the Murray Region.

Prof Kath BowmerProfessor Kathleen Bowmer,(BSc Hons, PhD Nott., MRACI, FAICD)
Institute adjunct research fellow, Water policy advisor

Kath has qualifications in agricultural science and chemistry and is a fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She has been employed by CSIRO (Deputy Chief CSIRO Water Resources, and Business Director CSIRO Land and Water); Charles Sturt University (Deputy Vice- Chancellor; more recently co-ordinating the subject  water policy and management); Griffith University (Adjunct Professor and team member of the national water planning project); State Water Corporation (non-executive board member);   and the Australian Research Council ( chair of  the earth sciences panel). She also chaired the Murrumbidgee River Management Committee. Honours include the Australian Museum Pol Eureka Prize for Environmental Science.

and Ms Nikki Scott, Executive Officer to the group
Business Manager ILWS

Past Advisory Boards 2005-2012