Charles Sturt University
Charles Sturt University


FGC ITTC logos


The Functional Grains Centre (FGC) is a newly established Research Centre funded by the Australian Research Council Industrial Transformation Training Centre program. The aims of the Centre are to:

  • Identify national and international consumer preferences for new products targeted to consumer demand now and the future;
  • Improve grain storage and processing to maintain and enhance human health and other functionalities in processed foods;
  • Improve end-product quality by identifying key sensory attributes and chemical markers for quality;
  • Identifying novel bioactive compounds that can be used to generate new functional products;
  • Training the next generation of food scientists with expertise and industry background to continue to transform the current commodity based industries into high-value product-focused businesses beyond the life of this project;
  • Building long term collaborative food innovation systems.

The FGC consists of a number research partners (Charles Sturt University, NSW DPI, Grain Growers Ltd and CSIRO), industry partners (Sunrice, MSM Milling, Woods Grains, Flavour Makers and Teys) and support partners (Grains Research and Development Corporation, Rural Industries Research and Development Corporation, Grains and Legume Nutrition Council and Intersect).

The centre will primarily focus on projects that transform rice, pulses and canola into high value products.

Eligible applicants must be studying on a full-time basis towards a Masters by Research or Research Doctorate degree. ITTC-FGC scholarships are available to applicants intending to commence in 2016, or are currently enrolled, in a Higher Degree by Research program.


  • University Research Centre scholarships are only available to Australian and New Zealand citizens or Australian permanent residents.
  • An applicant's proposed research is to be aligned with the key objectives of the Functional Grains Centre.
  • Applicants should hold, or expect to hold, at least a Bachelor degree with upper second class honours or a qualification deemed equivalent.
  • Will commence a Masters by Research or Research Doctorate in 2016, or is currently enrolled in a Higher Degree by Research program.
  • Have had their enrolment into the proposed Higher Degree by Research program accepted by CSU.

Awards will not be available to those who:

  • Are receiving another equivalent award, scholarship or salary from the Australian Government or its statutory authorities;
  • Have already completed a degree at the same, or higher, level;
  • Have previously had more than 6 months of a Commonwealth–funded postgraduate research scholarship.

The University will rank applicants by academic merit. The applicant's place in the order of merit will not be affected by age, proposed area of research or study or having applied to another institution.


An Industrial Transformation Training Centre Scholarship is NOT transferable to another university.

Award value

Stipend: Currently $25,849 per annum (2015 rate) and at present considered tax exempt.

Tuition Fees: Domestic ITTC - FGC recipients are exempt from tuition fees under the Research Training Scheme (RTS).

Operating Funds: Scholarship recipients are allocated an allowance per session of enrolment to assist with the reimbursement of costs associated with conducting their research studies.

Award duration

The award is normally for two (2) years for Masters by Research and three (3) years for Research Doctorate. Periods of study already undertaken towards the degree prior to commencement, will be deducted from the period of tenure.

An extension of up to six (6) months may be granted for Research Doctorate candidates where the University is satisfied that the extension is based on grounds which are beyond the control of the candidate and related to their research rather than of a personal nature.

Scholarship recipients are entitled to twenty (20) days paid recreation leave per year calculated on a pro-rata basis. Students are also entitled to up to ten (10) days paid sick leave per year and may be eligible for up to twelve (12) weeks paid maternity leave within the tenure of the award.

How to Apply & Application Closing Date