Charles Sturt University
Charles Sturt University

Research team

Professor Sharynne McLeod, PhD
Research Institute for Professional Practice, Learning and Education (RIPPLE)
Charles Sturt University, Australia

Australian Research Council Future Fellow (FT0990588)
Project title: Speaking my languages: International speech acquisition in Australia
Blog: Speaking my languages

International Expert Panel on Multilingual Children's Speech

Research students (since 2009)

Postdoctoral Scholars

Sarah Verdon
Kathryn Crowe

Graduated – PhD

Sarah Verdon, PhD

Kathryn Crowe, PhD

Jane McCormack, PhD

Sarah Masso, PhD

Graduated – Masters

Rebekah Lockart

  • THESIS: Factors that enhance Australian speech-language pathologists' assessment of the speech of Cantonese-speaking children

Graduated – Honours

Bethany Toohill

  • THESIS: Childhood speech impairment: Co-occurrence with language, hearing, pre-literacy and oro-motor impairment in Indigenous and non-Indigenous Australian children

Nicole Limbrick

  • THESIS: Designs and decisions: The creation of informal measures for assessing speech production in children

Hannah Wilkin

  • THESIS: "Oh I forgot the voice: A comparative analysis of children's drawings"

PhD students

Suzanne Hopf
Helen Blake
Ben Phạm
Anna Cronin
Nicole McGill

Research assistants (since 2010)

Grear McAdam
Anna Cronin
Ben Phạm
Sarah Masso 
Sarah Verdon
Felicity McKellar
Alice Whitfield
Hannah Wilkin
Ninh Dang Vu


Dr Elise Baker, The University of Sydney, Australia
Dr Caroline Bowen, Macquarie University, Australia
Dr Suzanne Churcher, University of Portsmouth, UK
Professor Jan Edwards, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA
Professor Marios Fourakis, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA
Associate Professor Magdalena Janus, McMaster University, Canada
Dr Damjana Kogovšek, University of Ljubljana, Ljubljana, Slovenia 
Lê Thi Thanh Xuân (Xuân), Pham Ngoc Thach University of Medicine, Việt Nam
Lê Khánh Điền (Điền), Pham Ngoc Thach University of Medicine, Việt Nam
Dr Þóra (Thora) Másdóttir, The National Hearing and Speech Institute of Iceland, Iceland
Dr Carol To, University of Hong Kong, SAR China
Anniek van Doornik-van der Zee, HU University of Applied Sciences Utrecht, The Netherlands 
Alenka Vidmar, Kindergarten Kekec, Grosuplje, Slovenia 
Dr Karla Washington, University of Cincinnati, OH, USA
Dr A. Lynn Williams, East Tennessee State University, TN, USA
Dr Pam Williams, Nuffield Centre, London, UK 
Dr Adam Winsler, George Mason University, VA, USA
Dr Yvonne Wren, University of West of England, UK

Collaborators and supporters

Members of the International Expert Panel on Multilingual Children's Speech
Colleagues and students at Charles Sturt University, Australia
Speech-language pathologists around the world

Research Students' Awards, Scholarships and Fellowships


  • Fulbright Postdoctoral Scholarship (Crowe, 2016)
  • Endeavour Research Fellowship (Verdon, 2014; Masso, 2016)
  • Charles Sturt University PhD Write Up Award (Masso, 2016)


  • Endeavour Postgraduate Scholarship (Hopf, 2014)
  • Australian Awards Scholarship (Phạm, 2014-2018)
  • Sir Robert Menzies Memorial Research Scholarship (McCormack, 2010; Blake, 2016 – shortlisted)


  • Churchill Fellowship (Cronin, 2015)
  • Australasian Human Development Association Conference Travel Scholarship (Masso, 2015)
  • American Speech-Language-Hearing Association Student Travel Award (Crowe, 2013)


  • Trinh Foundation Research Grant (Phạm, 2016)
  • Australian Linguistic Society Gerhardt Laves Scholarship (Hopf, 2015)
  • Speech Pathology Australia Higher Degree Research Grant (Masso, 2015)
  • Speech Pathology Australia Nadia Verrall Memorial Scholarship (Watts Pappas, 2006)
  • CSU Honours Scholarship (Wilkin, 2012; Limbrick, 2011)
  • CSU Honours Operating Grant (Limbrick, 2012)
  • Mitchellsearch Honours Scholarship (Barr, 2006; Holliday, 2008)


  • SCOPUS Young Researcher Award for Humanities and Social Sciences (McCormack, 2011)
  • NSW/ACT Young Achievers Award for Science Leadership (Verdon, 2014)
  • Pursuit Award for Childhood Disability Research (Canada) runner-up (McCormack, 2013; Verdon, 2015)
  • Journal of Clinical Practice in Speech-Language Pathology Editor's Prize (Crowe, 2014)
  • Charles Sturt University Faculty of Education Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award (Watts Pappas, 2007; McCormack, 2010; Verdon, 2015)
  • Charles Sturt University Faculty of Education Best Student Paper (Barr, 2008)
  • Speech Pathology Australia National Conference Best Student Paper (Verdon, 2014; Howland, 2016) and Best Student Poster (Masso, 2014) 
  • Speech Pathology Australia Student Award for Outstanding Academic and Clinical Performance in the Bachelor program (Limbrick,2012; Howland, 2016)
  • CSU Faculty of Science Dean's Award for Academic Excellence (Limbrick, 2012)
  • Australian Federation of University Women Most Meritorious Graduate (Barr, 2006)


  • CSU 3 Minute Thesis Competition runner-up (Verdon, 2014; Masso, 2015)
  • Inaugural Three Minute Honours Thesis Competition Winner, Charles Sturt University (Limbrick, 2012)
  • Nursing and Allied Health Scholarship and Support Scheme (NAHSSS)--Allied Health Undergraduate Stream (Limbrick, 2010-2012)
  • CSU Excellence Scholarship (Limbrick, 2009-2012)