Note: for post-July 2016 Governance details please refer to the following 2017 Handbook section.

Academic Governance

Academic Senate

The Academic Senate is the principal academic body of the University. It has delegated authority from the Council to make and monitor academic policy, it provides advice to the Council and Vice-Chancellor on all matters relating to teaching, research and scholarship and it is responsible for ensuring the high quality of teaching and learning and research within the University.

The Senate has a membership of 28 comprising: two members of the professoriate elected by the Senate as the Presiding Officer and Deputy Presiding Officer; the Vice-Chancellor, the Deputy Vice-Chancellors, Executive Deans of Faculty; Pro Vice-Chancellors: Dean of Students; Executive Director of Library Services; the Presiding Officer of the Indigenous Board of Studies as ex-officio members; two members of the professoriate nominated and elected by the professorial forum; two elected academic staff members from each Faculty; and two students nominated by the student associations.

The Senate meets five times each year and is assisted in its work by several committees.

Curriculum Learning and Teaching Committee

The Curriculum, Learning and Teaching Committee advises the Senate on matters relating to curriculum, learning and teaching policy relating to undergraduate course and postgraduate coursework programs.

Academic Regulations Committee

The Academic Regulations Committee advises the Senate on matters relating to existing and proposed academic regulations, policies and Rules of the Academic Senate (except those relating to higher degree research programs).

Research Advisory Committee

The Research Advisory Committee advises the Senate on research and research training profile and performance. The Committee also advises Senate on matters of policy and regulation pertaining to research professional doctorate and higher degree research programs and research professional doctorate and higher degree research candidature (including admission, enrolment, credit and graduation).

Other Committees of the Senate

The Senate has a number of other committees to perform specialist functions. These include: the Academic Appeals Committee which decides appeals from research higher degree candidates against decisions of the Research Advisory Committee; the Standing Committee which has the authority to determine urgent matters; the Audit Committee which is responsible for auditing the practices and operation of the Academic Senate; and the University Medals Committee which awards University Medals to academically outstanding students.

Faculties and Schools

The University´s academic activities (teaching, research and consultancy) are the province of the Faculties of the University. Each Faculty is headed by an Executive Dean who is responsible to the Vice-Chancellor through the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) for the management of the Faculty. The Faculties, which are multi-campus, comprise campus-based and cross-campus Schools and, in a few cases, campus-based academic units. Each school is managed by a Head of School who is responsible to the Executive Dean.

Faculties are responsible for the development and delivery of courses whereas Schools are responsible for the curriculum and the teaching of the subjects that comprise courses.

Faculty Boards

Each Faculty has a Faculty Board, chaired by the Executive Dean, which is a committee of the Academic Senate and is responsible for the quality of the Faculty´s courses, research, consultancy and other academic activities. Each School of the Faculty is represented on the Faculty Board.

Committees of the Faculty Boards

The Faculty Boards have a number of committees to perform specialist functions on behalf of the Board. These include: a Courses Committee which approve the documentation for new and revised course proposals; an Assessment Committee which approves the awarding of grades; Faculty Research and Graduate Studies Committees which monitor the Faculty´s research and consultancy endeavours and graduate programs; and a Standing Committee to handle urgent issues.

School Boards

Each School has a School Board, chaired by the Head of School, which is responsible for the quality of the teaching and assessment of the School´s subjects and the other academic activities of the School.

Course Directors

Course Directors have been appointed in Faculties with responsibility for the strategic leadership and academic management of a complex course or a group of courses. The course director is responsible for leadership of planning and curriculum development for the course(s); for course quality assurance and accreditation processes and application of CSU’s academic regulations and policies to the course(s); for marketing and industry liaison on behalf of the course(s); and for student advisory processes for the course(s).

Course Coordinators

A course coordinator is a member of the academic staff of the Faculty. The course coordinator is responsible for ensuring that students in a course meet all the requirements of the course required for graduation and abide by the regulations and other policies approved by the Senate.