Export/Import Content

To reuse content from one subject to another the option is to Export then Import content into the new site.

It allows the transfer of material between course sites, organisations, or between organisations and courses.

Export Course/Organisation -  creates a zip file of site content that can later be imported to a new site.

Import Package - the content of the zip file is imported into an existing site. into the same site or a different site.

Imported packages don't include student enrolments or dates.

Step-by-step instructions

Things to note:

  • Export packages are downloaded as compressed ZIP files and are imported in the same format. Do not unzip an export package or delete files from the package, otherwise the package will not be imported correctly.
  • If your site exceeds 1 GB, you will not be able to export the site using the method outlined on this page. Instructions on how to calculate the size of the site are included in the ‘Exporting an Interact2 Site’ PDF. Log an SRS, for support, if the site exceeds one GB.
  • If you import the export file into the site multiple times, it will create multiple items like content, tests, discussions, blogs etc. and content collection files. These will need to be manually removed one by one. Make sure you view the message provided at the top of the Import Package/View Logs screen to see the status of the Import.

Reordering and un-hiding items in the navigation menu

Once you have imported the content into your new subject site, you might need to reorder and or un-hide the items on the navigation menu to suit.

Content appears in the order that you add it but it can be reordered.

  1. Use the drag-and-drop function: Hover over the navigation item. Click and hold on the arrows to the left of the item.arrow Drag the item to the new location.
  2. Alternatively, use the reordering tool to reorder content. Select an item in the list and use the Move up or Move Down icons to adjust the order

How to hide content in your navigation menu

Click on the downward arrow next to the content you want to hide

From the menu, select the option for Hide Link

left nav hide content